Week 4

 

This week has been somewhat of a turning point for my group since we feel like we actually have an idea of what the end goal of our game is, for the first time since the start of the project. The alfa prototype is done and now it is time to iterate further and polish everything to the nines! One of my tasks has been to create art for one of the enemies in the game, a mean worm. It is supposed to appear suddenly from holes in the cave wall, surprising the player.

A dilemma of drawing the worm was what angle to draw it from. Our game is set top down, but drawing the worm completely from above would limit the possibilities to show its features. I ended up with drawing it from the side, a bit angled, that way the mouth and eyes could both be shown.

I tried to make it look scary and dramatic to run along with the theme of the game, which is meant to have an ambient and desolate feeling to it, and this worm is supposed to kill or harm the player. To communicate to the player that this is not a worm you want to make friends with I focused on enhancing the features that is perceived as threatening. I made the mouth big and full of sharp teeth, and the eyes small.

My first step in the drawing process was to create the outlines and the contour of the worm. I prefer to draw it quite rough at first and then erase excess lines. I drew the teeth very hastily and uneven to get an idea on how I wanted them to look like. But I kind of liked the uneven look of them so I decided to stay with my first try. I thought the fact that the teeth had randomly different lengths added to the demonish look.

mask-linjer-blogg

When it came to coloring, I went with bright red since that is considered a powerful and aggressive color. I made the teeth a bit yellow and the gums dark pink and red for that nice infected look. I started out with a yellow color for the eyes, but looking at the final product I would say they turned our more light brown. If I were to change something I would go back to a yellow eye color since I find that scarier than brown eyes. At last I used darker colors to add shadows in creases and where I wanted depth, and brighter color to highlight.

mask-blogg

En reaktion till “Week 4

  1. Hello Hanna,

    This is Fredrik Nilsson, producer/project manager of group Troll.

    Your blog post is pretty solid and it is nice to read you found a end goal of your project! Overall the post have a good and solid structure which also is very informative. It contains what you have done during the week. You also bring up the limitation you had with what angle to draw it in.

    I strongly believe there is not much room for improving with this particular blog, you have explained how you did it as well as providing reasons for all of the decisions you had to make and why you made them. For example how you tried to make it have a very demonish look and then you go on to write how you thought it added to its look.

    Overall it is a very well written blog, hopefully you will be able to achieve the end goal you finally found!

    Gilla

Lämna en kommentar